2014: Future Spaces

Researching and Experimenting with Design

Master Gutenberg-Intermedia
Communication Design
University of Applied Sciences Mainz, Germany
2014/15

Mega trends, think tanks, weather forecasts, horoscopes and prognoses: forecasting the future has always been one of humanity’s greatest aspirations. We want to know what will happen the day after tomorrow so that we can plan for it today. Not only in politics and economics is the ability to anticipate the future an important strategy; in design, anticipating the future helps us to create sustainable designs that go beyond the here and now.

In order to develop sustainable design concepts, it is essential to not only analyse the societal, technological and economic context, but we must also painstakingly observe seemingly banal cultural changes to our everyday lives. What are the major trends that define our global culture? How are they characterised within the various design disciplines. What impact will media (technology) developments have on our society? What is the role of design in all of this?

Design has certainly always been an important instrument in effectively conveying/imparting visions of society and/or technology on a broad scale. And so, even nowadays, it falls upon the designer to communicate ideas of the future and to generate widespread acceptance for that which may still seem extraneous. Designers often served as socio-critical visionaries who developed exemplary designs based on the current status quo and thus made the future tangible.

Space to think and experiment

With “Future Spaces. Researching and Experimenting with Design,” the Gutenberg Intermedia 2014/15 masters program offers students the freedom to learn strategies that allow them to think ahead of future developments in design. In addition to individual key issues, visionary ideas are developed with the goal to discuss and communicate visions of the future within the context of society. We also want to critically reflect upon the discourse revolving around the future through design thus fostering its progression.

The masters program at Gutenberg Intermedia 2014/15 links communication design and interior design through interdisciplinary and cross-medial coursework/projects. Its intensive course of study spans 3 semesters and is geared towards designers who want to newly define today’s communicative design for tomorrow; who enjoy researching and experimenting in alternating teams; who have an interest in intellectual future experiments and thought experiments as well as tangible media implementations/applications.

In order to visualize the future in an exemplary manner and foster open discussion, our master’s studios and seminar rooms will become future labs. Moreover, we will assist you with your designs for the future in our diverse digital and analogue workshops.

Workshops and Communication Design Labs:
Computerpools
iLab Interactive Workshop
Usability Lab
Digital Photography Workshop
Analogue Photography Workshop
Lab for Digital Image Processing
Offset Printing Workshop
Letterpress and Gravure Printing Workshop
Screen-printing Workshop
Bookbinding Workshop
Drawing Studio
Book Printing Workshop
Laser plotter

Mentoring Professors:
Prof. Katja Davar / Drawing
Prof. Dr. Petra Eisele / Design History and theory
Prof. Holger Reckter  / Computer science
Prof. Anna-Lisa Schönecker / Information design
Prof. Bettina Tabel / Design management



\ tidy

2014: Future Spaces

Forschen und Experimentieren mit Design

Megatrends, Think Tanks, Wettervorhersagen, Horoskope und Prognosen: Die Zukunft vorherzusagen war schon immer ein großer Menschheitstraum. Wir wollen wissen, was übermorgen passiert, um schon jetzt dafür planen zu können. Zukunft möglichst gut zu antizipieren, ist nicht nur in Politik und Wirtschaft, sondern auch im Design eine wichtige Strategie, um über das Hier und Jetzt hinaus verantwortungsvoll zu gestalten.

Um zukunftsfähige Gestaltungskonzepte ausarbeiten zu können, gilt es nicht nur gesellschaftliche, technologische und wirtschaftliche Zusammenhänge kritisch zu analysieren, sondern auch vermeintlich banale alltagskulturelle Veränderungen mit seismografischem Feingefühl zu beobachten: Was sind die großen Trends, die unsere globalisierte Kultur prägen? Wie differenzieren sie sich aus in den verschiedenen Gestaltungsdisziplinen? Welche Auswirkungen werden die medien(-technologischen) Entwicklungen auf unsere Gesellschaft haben? Welche Rolle spielt dabei Design?

Sicherlich war Gestaltung schon immer ein wichtiges Instrument, um technische und/oder gesellschaftliche Visionen breitenwirksam zu vermitteln. So kommt Gestaltern bis heute die Rolle zu, Ideen des Zukünftigen zu kommunizieren, um für das noch Fremde breitenwirksam Akzeptanz zu erzeugen. Gestalter agierten aber auch oft als gesellschaftskritische Visionäre, die aus einer kritischen Analyse des aktuellen Status Quo heraus exemplarisch Entwürfe entwickelten, mit denen Zukünftiges konkret fassbar wurde.

Freiräume und Denkräume

Mit „Future Spaces. Forschen und Experimentieren mit Design“ bietet der Masterstudiengang Gutenberg Intermedia 2014/15 den Freiraum, um Strategien kennenzulernen, mit denen Zukünftiges im Gestaltungsbereich vorweggedacht werden kann. Zu individuellen Themenschwerpunkten werden visionäre Konzepte entwickelt mit dem Ziel, Zukunftsvisionen gesellschaftlich zu kommunizieren und zu diskutieren – auch um die inhaltlichen Diskurse über Zukunft durch Design kritisch reflektieren und weiterentwickeln zu können.

Der Masterstudiengang Gutenberg Intermedia 2014/15 verbindet Kommunikationsdesign und Innenarchitektur in interdisziplinärer und medienübergreifender Projektarbeit. Das intensive dreisemestrige Programm des Master-Studienganges Gutenberg-Intermedia richtet sich an Designerinnen und Designer, die Kommunikationsdesign aus dem Heute für das Morgen und Übermorgen neu definieren möchten und Lust am Forschen und Experimentieren in wechselnden Teams haben – mit Interesse an intellektuellen Zukunftsexperimenten und Gedankenspielen, aber auch an konkreter medialer Umsetzung.

Wir suchen engagierte Gestalter aus den verschiedensten Disziplinen
mit Lust am Forschen und Experimentieren.

Um Zukunft exemplarisch visualisieren und öffentlich diskutieren zu können, werden unsere Master-Atelier- und Seminarräume zu Zukunftslaboratorien. Zudem begleiten wir Sie bei Ihren Zukunftsentwürfen in unseren vielfältigen analogen und digitalen Werkstätten.

Werkstätten und Labore Kommunikationsdesign:
Computerpools
iLab / Interaktive Werkstatt
Usability-Labor
Digitale Fotowerkstatt
Analoge Fotowerkstatt
Labor für digitale Bildbearbeitung
Offsetdruckerei
Hoch- und Tiefdruckwerkstatt
Siebdruckwerkstatt
Buchbindewerkstatt
Atelier für Zeichnen
Werkstatt für Buchdruck
Laserplotter

Betreuende Professoren:
Prof. Katja Davar / Zeichnung
Prof. Dr. Petra Eisele / Designgeschichte und -theorie
Prof. Holger Reckter  / Medieninformatik
Prof. Anna-Lisa Schönecker / Informationsdesign
Prof. Bettina Tabel / Designmanagement

Informationen zur Bewerbung



\ tidy

master_aktuell_1403012_web-3
master_aktuell_1403012_web-4
master_aktuell_1403012_web-2
master_aktuell_1403012_web-1