en

2015: Deep Typography

The next Master Programme in Communication Design starting October 2015 deals with the subject of Typography. Please apply for any of the five research areas below, submitting an exposé (approx. two pages A4) and an informative portfolio.

1) — Perception of Typography
Keywords: the reading brain, the process of reading itself, typefaces and their legibility quality, reading with analog and digital media, script manipulations, readability tests, ways of reading, legibility, etc.

2) — Typography and Technology
Keywords: Responsive Typography, Liquid Layout, State of Technology and Discussion, Development of reading devices, Blessing or Curse of Participation, Self-attempt with current technologies, old & new rules of typography, etc.

3) — Typography and Semiotics
Keywords: The meaning of characters, visual Rhetoric, Semiotic systems, History of Semiotics, User interface, Semantics, Syntax, Pragmatics, Lost in Translation, Pictograms, Ideograms, Phonograms, etc.

4) — Trends in Typography, Styles, Vogues
Keywords: Social and cultural developments, Development and Predictions of Trends, Mainstream vs. Avant garde, Zeitgeist, Rebellion, Hype cycles, etc.

5) — Variability in Type design
Keywords: Discriminability of Types, Type classification, Non-Latin writing systems, Origins and relationships of scripts, Original and Reproduction, Me-too-fonts

Together we are planning to approach those five research areas, from the scientific as well as from the experimental design area. Each of the 16 Students will have his or her own 24/7 workplace in the creative atmosphere of the Master building.

We expect and encourage intensive work and discussion. Workshops for digital print, silk screen printing, book binding, photography, an iLab, the Usability laboratory, a 3D mill and woodwork are available. Our theoretical topics comprise Design management, Psychology, Semiotics, Design theory and History of Art. The seminar program is rounded off by additional workshops and lectures.

This is your background for the three semesters you will spend on research work on your own project and enlarge upon your knowledge of Typography.

Master Programme 2015/2016
Directors of Studies
Prof. Johannes Bergerhausen
Prof. Ulysses Voelker

Further informations for your application

2015: Deep Typography

Der nächste KD-Master ab Oktober 2015 in Mainz widmet sich dem Thema Typografie. Bitte bewerben Sie sich mit einem Exposé (etwa zwei A4-Seiten) und einem aussagefähigen Portfolio zu einem dieser fünf Forschungsfelder:

1) — Wahrnehmung von Typografie
Stichworte: das lesende Gehirn, der Lesevorgang selbst, Schriften und ihre Lesequalität, Lesen auf analogen und digitalen Trägern, Schriftmanipulationen, Lesbarkeitstests, Lesearten, Lesbarkeit, Leserlichkeit, usw.

2) — Typografie und Technik
Stichworte: Responsive Typography, Liquid Layout, Stand der Technik und der Diskussion, Entwicklung der Lesegeräte, Fluch & Segen der Partizipation, eigene Erprobung der aktuellen Technik, alte/neue Regeln in der Typografie, usw.

3) — Typografie und Semiotik
Stichworte: Bedeutung der Zeichen, visuelle Rhetorik, Zeichensysteme, Zeichengeschichte, Benutzeroberflächen, Semantik, Syntaktik, Pragmatik, Lost in Translation, Piktogramme, Ideogramme, Phonogramme, usw.

4) — Typografische Trends, Stile, Moden
Stichworte: gesellschaftliche und kulturelle Entwicklungen, Entstehung und Voraussagen von Trends, Mainstream vs. Avantgarde, Zeitgeist, Rebellion, Hypecycles, usw.

5) — Varianz im Schriftentwurf
Stichworte: Unterscheidbarkeit von Schriften, Schriftklassifizierungen, Non-Latin-Schriftsysteme, Abstammungen und Verwandtschaften von Schriften, Original und Kopie, Hardcore-Schriftvermaßungen, Me-too-Schriften, usw.

Gemeinsam wollen wir uns den fünf Forschungsfeldern sowohl von der wissenschaftlichen als auch von der gestalterisch-experimentellen Seite nähern. Jeder der 16 Studierenden bekommt einen eigenen 24/7-Arbeitsplatz in der kreativen Atmosphäre des Mastergebäudes.

Intensives Arbeiten und Diskutieren vor Ort ist ausdrücklich erwünscht. Werkstätten für Digitaldruck, Siebdruck, Buchbinden, Fotografie, das iLab, das Usability-Labor, die 3D-Fräse und die Holzwerkstatt können genutzt werden. Unsere Theorie-Angebote beschäftigen sich mit Design-Management, Psychologie, Semiotik, Designtheorie und Kunstgeschichte. Zusätzliche Workshops und Vorträge runden die Seminarangebote ab.

Vor diesem Hintergrund können Sie drei Semester lang an Ihrem eigenen Projekt forschen und Ihr typografisches Wissen vertiefen.

Leitung Masterjahrgang 2015
Prof. Dipl.-Des. Johannes Bergerhausen
Prof. Dipl.-Des. Ulysses Voelker

Informationen zur Bewerbung



\ tidy

Master Typografie Keyvisual