2020: Deep Speed Typography

Three intense semesters creating your own typography project. Workshops, excursions, teamwork: the new master’s program starts in October 2020.

Deep

— experiment with new ways in typography and editorial design
— create a typography conference as a team
— meet important designers
— open end discussions of innovative editorial design
— your own workplace, 24/7
— time to develop your own project

Speed

— excursions to typography and design conferences
— learning type design in three days
— rapid prototyping for typographers
— speed-dating with 16 new fellow students
— web typography on a weekend
— workshops and tutorials

There is typography for deep understanding (Deep Reading) and typography for browsing, quick overview (Speed Reading). In this master’s programme, we want to explore both types of reading to their extreme forms.

Testing your ideas and approaches for your own master project through creative experiments:
A better Instagram, a custom font, the reading app of the future, a generative book, typography for augmented reality, moving posters, the editorial design of tomorrow or new avenues in thinking about design.

The master’s degree is aimed at typography / editorial design nerds as well as those who want to catch up: typographic expertise, technical back-ground, thinking about design or simply more project experience.

In addition, the master’s programme has proven record to network and start a professional life.

Workshops with

Jakob Runge, Type-Designer
Frank Rausch, Interface-Typographer
Underware, Type-Foundry

Deep Speed Typography

The Master’s Degree Course Communication Design of Hochschule Mainz, aims to qualify up to 16 Bachelor and Diploma graduates in the areas of interdisciplinary medial design practice and research. The objective is to deepen their design qualifications and widen their conceptual and organisational skills.

Visual Authors

Designer assume the role of «visual authors» who are taking responsibility for the contents, and who in their designs reflect social, technical and cultural contexts, with whole teams implementing substantial design projects. The Master’s Degree Course teaches the skills necessary for these processes within the framework of complex design projects, but also through the development of an individual Master’s Thesis.

Design in Mainz

Mainz, the city where Johannes Gutenberg invented typography, today is home of one of Germany’s largest design faculties, with Communication Design, Interior Architecture and Media Design.

24/7 Workspace

On a specially equipped Master’s floor, you as a student have a workplace which is accessible 24 hours a day. Workplace, printer, beamer, internet, etc. are supplied by the university, you should have your own laptop.

Analog and Digital Workshops

The department of Communication Design provides many different workshops and laboratories for design experiments: Photography Studios and Labs, Interactive Lab, Printing Workshops for Offset and Screen Printing, Letterpress and Printmaking, Book Binding Workshop, Computer Pools and an extensive library supplies latest magazines and publications for research.

Studying and Family Life

Hochschule Mainz was awarded the certificate «Family Friendly University». All students with children aged six months and over are guaranteed a place in childcare. Further details about the network of childcare providers can be obtained from the Equal Opportunity Officer at the University.

Career Perspectives

Graduates of the Master’s Course will mainly work in leading positions where a high level of professional and personal competence is required. Apart from being self employed with one’s own enterprise, there are the profes- sional areas of the Art Director, the Creative Director, the Communication Designer in Education and Research working for agencies, publishers, design studios, cultural institutions and the design departments in industry and the media. The Master of Arts Degree is also a requirement for candida- tes wishing to study for a PhD, and it qualifies for a career in senior service.

Application Requirements

Applicants must have reached a total minimum mark of 2.5 («good») at their finals in a design-oriented Bachelor or Diploma course. The application procedure consists of two steps: the submission of the portfolio, including curriculum vitae, followed by an interview and the online application. Applicants with a diploma from a foreign college/university are required to present their credentials via Uni-Assist.

Contact

studierendenbuero@hs-mainz.de

Virtual Information event

Wednesday,­ April 1st 2020

The info event takes place virtually: Please send us an email to this address by March 29. Then we offer you individual or group appointments via Skype, Zoom or Hangout on April 1st.

portfolio review

If you like, we are also happy to check your portfolio. To do this, upload up to 15 works in a folder that bears your name. Don’t forget: integrate a text file with your name and email address. All data is not visible to external parties and is deleted immediately after the consultation.

Application deadline

Monday, June 15th 2020
Curriculum vitae, Portfolio and
 Application for the aptitude test

Admission interviews

Thursday, July 2nd 2020
Friday, July 3rd 2020

Deadline Uni-Assist

July 15th 2020

Start of studies

October 1st 2020

Graduation Master of Arts

January 2022

Directors of Studies 2020–21

Prof. Johannes Bergerhausen
Prof. Dr. Petra Eisele
Prof. Florian Jenett
Prof. Philipp Pape

master-kommunikationsdesign.hs-mainz.de

University of Applied
Sciences Mainz
Communication Design
Holzstraße 36, D-55116 Mainz
www.hs-mainz.de



\ tidy

2020: Deep Speed Typography

Drei Semester Zeit für ein eigenes Typo­grafie-Projekt. Workshops, Exkursionen, Team­arbeit: Der neue Master der Hoch­schule Mainz startet im Oktober 2020.

 

Deep

Typografie und Editoral Design experimentell erforschen
gemeinsam eine Typo-Konferenz gestalten
wichtige Gestalter kennen lernen
open end über neues Editorial Design diskutieren
ein eigener Arbeitsplatz, 24/7
Zeit, ein eigenes Projekt zu entwickeln

Speed

Exkursionen zu Typografie- und Design-Konferenzen
Typedesign-Intro in drei Tagen
Rapid-Prototyping für Typografen
Speed-Dating mit 16 neuen Kommilitonen
Webtypografie an einem Wochenende
Workshops und Tutorials

Es gibt Typografie für das tiefe Verständnis (Deep Reading) und Typografie für den surfenden, schnellen Überblick (Speed Reading). Beide Lesearten wollen wir in diesem Masterstudiengang bis in ihre extremen Formen ausreizen.

Durch gestalterische Experimente testen Sie, was Ihr eigenes Master-Projekt sein könnte:
Ein besseres Instagram, eine eigene Schrift, die Lese-App der Zukunft, ein generatives Buch, Typografie für Augmented Reality, Moving-Posters, das Editorial Design von morgen oder das, woran noch niemand gedacht hat.

Der Master richtet sich sowohl an Typografie-/Editorial Design-Nerds als auch an diejenigen, die noch etwas nachholen wollen: typografische Expertise, technische Hintergründe, Nachdenken über Gestaltung — oder einfach mehr Projekterfahrung.

Der Masterstudiengang hat sich darüber hinaus als Kontaktbörse für den Einstieg ins Berufsleben bewährt.

Workshops mit

Jakob Runge, Type-Designer
Frank Rausch, Interface-Typograf
Underware, Type-Foundry

Deep Speed Typography

Der Masterstudiengang Kommunikationsdesign an der Hochschule Mainz bildet bis zu sechzehn Bachelor- und Diplomabsolventen auf dem Gebiet der medienübergreifenden Gestaltungspraxis und -forschung aus. Ziel ist es, die gestalterischen, konzeptionellen und organisatorischen Fähigkeiten zu erweitern.

Visuelle Autoren

Gestalter übernehmen als »visuelle Autoren« inhaltlich Verantwortung, reflektieren in ihren Entwürfen soziale, technische und kulturelle Zusammenhänge und organisieren umfangreiche Design-Projekte in Teams. Die dazu nötigen Fähigkeiten werden im Master Kommunikationsdesign im Rahmen komplexer Designprojekte sowie der Entwicklung einer eigenständigen Master-Arbeit vermittelt.

Design in Mainz

Wo Johannes Gutenberg einst die Typografie erfand, befindet sich heute einer der größten Gestaltungsfachbereiche Deutschlands, bestehend aus Kommunikationsdesign, Innenarchitektur und Zeitbasierte Medien.

24/7 Arbeitsplatz

Jede/r Studierende erhält einen täglich 24 Stunden zugänglichen Arbeitsplatz in einer dafür eingerichteten Masteretage. Hier können Sie im Team arbeiten: Drucker, Beamer, Internet, Kochecke, etc. stellt die Hochschule; einen eigenen Rechner sollten Sie selbst mitbringen.

Werkstätten

Alle Werkstätten der Fachrichtung stehen Ihnen für Ihre gestalterischen Experimente offen: Fotografie, Interaktive Werkstatt, Digitaldruck, Siebdruck, Druckgrafik, Buchbinderei, Computerpools und eine umfangreiche Bibliothek. Weitere Werkstätten wie Modellbau, Lichtlabor oder Holzwerkstatt sind ebenfalls zugänglich.

Studium und Familie

Die Hochschule Mainz wurde mit dem Zertifikat »Familiengerechte Hochschule« ausgezeichnet. Allen Studierenden werden Betreuungsplätze für Kinder ab sechs Monaten garantiert. Weitere Auskünfte erteilt die Gleichstellungsbeauftragte der Hochschule Mainz.

Berufliche Perspektiven

Absolventen des Masterstudiengangs arbeiten als freiberufliche Designer oder in Leitungspositionen, in denen ein hohes Maß an fachlicher und personeller Kompetenz gefragt ist. Neben einer selbstständigen, unternehmerischen Tätigkeit sind mögliche Berufsfelder die des Art Directors, des Creative Directors, des Kommunikationsdesigners in Bildung und Forschung — in Agenturen, Verlagen, Designbüros, kulturellen Institutionen sowie Werbeagenturen, Medienhäusern und Designabteilungen. Der Abschluss »Master of Arts« bildet zudem die Voraussetzung für ein Promotionsstudium und ermöglicht eine Laufbahn im höheren Dienst.

Bewerbungsverfahren

Vorausgesetzt wird ein mindestens mit der Gesamt­note »gut« (2,5) abgeschlossenes Studium in einem gestaltungs­orientierten Bachelor- oder Diplomstudiengang.
Die Bewerbung selbst erfolgt über ein mehrstufiges Verfahren: die Mappen- und Eignungsprüfung (Abgabe von Lebenslauf und Portfolio sowie anschließender mündlicher Prüfung) und Online-Bewerbung. Studienbewerber mit ausländischem Studienabschluss müssen ihre Zeugnisunterlagen über Uni-Assist einreichen.

Kontakt

studierendenbuero@hs-mainz.de

Virtuelle Info-Veranstaltung

Mittwoch, 1. April 2020

Der Info-Termin findet virtuell statt: Dazu schicken Sie bitte bis zum 29. März eine Mail an folgende Adresse. Dann bieten wir ihnen individuelle oder Gruppen-Termine per Skype, Zoom oder Hangout am 1. April an.

Virtuelle Mappenberatung

Wenn Sie mögen, schauen wir uns auch gerne Ihre Mappe an. Laden Sie dazu bis zu 15 Arbeiten in einem Ordner, der Ihren Namen trägt, hier hoch. Nicht vergessen: eine Textdatei mit Ihrem Namen und Ihrer Mail-Adresse integrieren. Alle Daten sind für Externe nicht einsehbar und werden direkt nach der Beratung wieder gelöscht.

Bewerbungsschluss

Montag, 15. Juni 2020
Lebenslauf, Portfolio und
 Antrag zum Eignungsverfahren

Aufnahmegespräche

Donnerstag, 2. Juli 2020
Freitag, 3. Juli 2020

Online-Studienplatz-Bewerbung

bis spätestens 15. Juli 2020

Studienbeginn

1. Oktober 2020

Abschluss

Master of Arts Januar 2022

Leitung Masterjahrgang 2020/2021

Prof. Johannes Bergerhausen, Typografie und Buchgestaltung
Prof. Dr. Petra Eisele, Designtheorie und Designgeschichte
Prof. Florian Jenett, Medieninformatik und Digitale Gestaltung
Prof. Philipp Pape, Konzeptionelles Gestalten

master-kommunikationsdesign.hs-mainz.de

Hochschule Mainz
Kommunikationsdesign
Holzstraße 36
55116 Mainz

www.hs-mainz.de



\ tidy