en

FAQ

1. What requirements do I have to meet to be admitted for the Master’s course?

You will need a degree in a design oriented Bachelor or Diploma course with an average pass mark of at least ‘good’ (2,5). Your previous course must have a total of 210 credit points, which as a rule can be attained in seven semesters.

2. Can I also apply if my Bachelor course only lasted six semesters or if I’ve got less than 210 credit points?

Of course you can, however, in this case you have to furnish proof of either an 18-week practical or similar relevant experience, or you have to complete additional modules in the Bachelor course.

3. What can I do if I don’t get my Final Certificate in time?

You can apply with a certificate from your college/ university, stating your exam results. You can hand in your final certificate by 31st january.

4. Which application deadlines do I have to observe?

Your application needs to be in by 15st June, the course starts with the winter semester.

5. How do I apply and what paperwork do I have to submit?

Applicants with a diploma from a foreign college/ university are required to present their credentials via Uni-Assist. Futhermore you need to submit the completed application forms, as well as your c.v., the questionnaire and your portfolio to the following address:

Hochschule Mainz \ Standort Campus
Studienbüro
Frau Stefanie Stuck
Lucy-Hillebrand-Straße 2, 55128 Mainz
Tel: 06131-628-7386
E-Mail: stefanie.stuck(at)hs-mainz.de

6. How is the admission procedure structured and how long does it take?

At first we evaluate the submitted documents as well as the portfolio. A jury decides whether you are invited for round two. This takes the form of an interview, where we want to find out about your experience, your goals and your ideas. Once we have talked to all potential candidates, these results together with your bachelor grades will decide on your admittance for the Master’s course.

7. What should my c.v. look like?

It is sufficient if this takes the form of a personal data sheet, stating the most important stages of your life up to the present.

8. What should I include in my portfolio?

This should contain a maximum of ten pieces, giving us an idea of your work up to now. These can include work from your study course, exam pieces or projects from practical work. This work may also be submitted in digital form. Please note that the portfolio should not weigh more than 3 kg and not be larger than 50 x 70 cm.

9. What do I put into the proposal?

There is no need to hand in a proposal for the current call for applications: bauhaus.labor.

Here, we expect a written statement about the topic of the Master’s course. Tell us what you are interested in, what you would like to enlarge upon, and explain why. The proposal should not be longer than one page DIN A4.

10. Does my proposal have to be in a thematic context with the year’s superordinate theme?

There is no need to hand in a proposal for the current call for applications: bauhaus.labor.

11. How many applicants are accepted?

A maximum of 16 applicants are accepted every year.

12. What requirements are there for applicants from abroad?

Applicants with certificates acquired abroad must apply via Uni-Assist in Berlin (www.uni-assist.de), who will assess your formal qualifications and compute your average mark. Uni-assist will then pass on the result to us. Most of the lectures and seminars will be in German. Therefore you will need to furnish proof of the TDNs level (www.testdaf.de). DSH1 and the Goethe certificate B2 are also accepted. Your other application papers can be sent direct to us.

en

FAQ

1. Welche Vorraussetzungen muss ich erfüllen, um zum Masterstudium zugelassen zu werden?

Für das Masterstudium benötigen Sie einen Abschluss in einem gestaltungsorientierten Bachelor- oder Diplomstudiengang mit einer Gesamtnote von mindestens gut (2,5). Ihr voran gegangenes Studium muss 210 Credit Points umfasst haben, in der Regel haben Sie diese nach sieben Semestern erreicht.

2. Kann ich mich auch bewerben, wenn mein Bachelorstudium nur über sechs Semester ging oder weniger als 210 Credit Points erworben wurden?

Natürlich können Sie das. Allerdings müssen Sie dann, bevor Sie sich zur Masterprüfung anmelden, entweder ein 18-wöchiges Fachpraktikum bzw. vergleichbare Praxiserfahrung nachweisen. Eine weitere Möglichkeit ist, dass Sie zusätzliche Module im Bachelor-Studiengang belegen..

3. Was mache ich, wenn mein Abschlusszeugnis nicht fristgerecht vorliegt?

Legen Sie Ihrer Bewerbung eine Hochschulbescheinigung bei, aus der hervorgeht, welche Leistungen Sie erbracht haben. Das Zeugnis können Sie bis zum 31. Januar 2018, d.h. zum Ende des ersten Mastersemesters nachreichen.

4. Welche Fristen muss ich bei meiner Bewerbung beachten?

Bewerbungen können Sie bis zum 15. Juni einreichen, das Studium beginnt immer zum Wintersemester.

5. Wie melde ich mich an und was muss ich alles einreichen?

Bitte bewerben Sie sich über unser Online-Verfahren und schicken Sie zusätzlich alle geforderten Unterlagen inklusive Lebenslauf, Proposal und Fragebogen sowie Ihr Portfolio an folgende Adresse:

Hochschule Mainz – Standort Campus
Studienbüro
Frau Chantal Ruthe
Lucy Hillebrand-Straße 2
55128 Mainz

6. Wie ist das Zulassungsverfahren gegliedert?

Für die Zulassung bewerten wir zuerst Portfolio und Proposal. Eine Jury entscheidet darüber, ob Sie zur zweiten Runde eingeladen werden. In einem persönlichen Gespräch lernen Sie uns und wir Sie kennen. Wir sprechen über Ihre Erfahrungen, Ziele und Vorstellungen. Aus der Beurteilung dieser Teile und Ihren Vornoten entscheidet sich, ob Sie zum Masterstudiengang zugelassen werden.

7. Wie soll mein Lebenslauf aussehen?

Ein kurzer tabellarischer Lebenslauf, der die wichtigsten Stationen Ihres bisherigen Lebens umfasst, genügt völlig..

8. Was gehört in mein Portfolio?

In das Portfolio gehören maximal zehn Arbeiten. Wählen Sie nur Arbeiten aus, von denen Sie überzeugt sind. Das können Arbeiten aus Ihrem bisherigen Studium, Abschlussarbeiten oder Projekte aus der Praxis sein. Die Arbeiten können auch in digitaler Form eingereicht werden. Bitte beachten Sie, dass das Portfolio nicht schwerer als drei Kilogramm und nicht größer als 50 cm auf 70 cm sein sollte.

9. Was schreibe ich ins Proposal?

Schreiben Sie kurz und knapp auf, mit was Sie sich in Ihrer Masterarbeit beschäftigen wollen. Erzählen Sie uns, was Sie interessiert, was Sie gerne vertiefen möchten und begründen Sie dies. Das Proposal sollte zwei DIN A4 Seiten nicht überschreiten.

10. Muss mein Proposal im thematischen Zusammenhang mit dem übergeordneten Thema des Jahrgangs stehen?

Das Thema 2017/18 lautet ›Type + Code‹. Beschreiben Sie welche Erfahrungen Sie im Bereich Typografie und welche Sie im Bereich Konzeption, programmatische Gestaltung und/oder Programmierung gesammelt haben. Und welche Bereich interessiert Sie persönlich dabei besonders?

11. Wie viele Bewerber werden angenommen?

Pro Jahr können maximal 16 Bewerber angenommen werden.

12. Welche Bedingungen gelten für Bewerber aus dem Ausland?

Bewerber, die im Ausland studiert haben, müssen ihre Zeugnisunterlagen über Uni-Assist in Berlin einreichen (www.uni-assist.de). Dort werden die formalen Voraussetzungen geprüft und die Durchschnittsnote ermittelt. Uni-Assist leitet das Ergebnis an uns weiter. Die meisten Vorlesungen und Seminare werden in deutscher Sprache stattfinden. Deshalb müssen Sie TDN3 Niveau (www.testdaf.de) nachweisen. DSH1 und das Goethe-Zertifikat B2 werden ebenfalls akzeptiert.
Die restlichen Bewerbungsunterlagen können Sie direkt bei uns einreichen.